Useful Links:

Donate Now

SSG Trip 2011 Volunteers


pic of Judy DR JUDY WHITE (Team Doctor, Trip Leader and Charity Chairman)

Lives: Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Likes: Cycling, walking, skiing, gardening and interior decorating and design
Dislikes: Nothing
Occupation: Retired GP. I run this charity with a great team of volunteers and I also work with 2 Irish charities.
Comments: I will be running this trip together with our team of volunteers and acting as Team Doctor. I have done 6 trips with SSG and am really looking forward to this trip and skiing alongside the young people and making plans for SSG in the future.
YP: Alex & Charlotte

pic of Steven STEVEN GRUNDY (Charity Treasurer)

Lives: Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Likes: Running, Cycling, Skiing, Scuba Diving and crafting things out of wood (new pair of skis, anyone?)
Dislikes: Wasps
Occupation: I run SG Associates, we are a firm of Executive Search Consultants
Comments: I am the Charity Treasurer. I will, therefore, be running the finances for this trip! I have a background in various sectors of the financial world around the world but now run my company of Search Consultants. This will be my second trip with SSG and I am very excited about meeting all the Young People and other volunteers on the trip. I am a keen skier and look forward to sharing that with you all.
YP: George

pic of Russel RUSSEL GAY

Lives: London
Likes: Skiing, Football (Leeds United), Cinema and making a fool of myself in Fancy Dress!
Dislikes: not skiing!
Occupation: Group Sales Development Manager, Harper Collins
Comments: I am 30 and have been living in London for 5 years now, although I am a Northerner by birth. I started skiing when I was 14 and have been every year since - nothing makes me happier than fondue, skiing and a glass of vin chaud! This will be my second trip and I am really looking forward to it as I will be able to show people why I love the mountains, especially to people who haven't had the opportunity before.
YP: Kieran

pic of Laura LAURA MILLINGTON

Lives: London
Likes: Skiing, Amateur Dramatics, Being fit
Dislikes: The process of getting fit!
Occupation: Change Management for Royal Mail
Comments: I grew up in Birmingham but have been living in London for 5 years now. My first experience of skiing was when I was 6 years old but I did spend much of my time asleep on the side of the mountain then! Not one to be deterred, I have been crazy about skiing ever since. In my spare time I dabble in a bit of amateur dramatics and attempt to stay fit... I say attempt because my last serious exercise endeavour saw me hobbling for a week afterwards! I am very excited about the trip and hope everyone will come back as enthusiastic about skiing as I am!
YP: Ellie

pic of Jamie JAMIE CHESTNUTT

Lives: Portsmouth, Hampshire
Likes: Snowboarding, Mountain Climbing, Motor Sports and Pizza!
Dislikes: Most green vegetables!
Occupation: Helicopter Test Pilot for the Royal Navy
Comments: I will be assisting with the running of the trip and I am the coordinator for the volunteers. I am a keen snowboarder and I am a qualified BASI Level 2 Adaptive Snowboard instructor, so I can also do all the activities we are about to make the young people do, whatever their disability! I am actively involved with Disability Snowsport UK (DSUK) as well. This is my fourth trip with Salveson and I am really looking forward to going to America with you all.
YP: Nicholas

pic of Jud JUD KIRK

Lives: Bournemouth, Dorset
Likes: Running, Skiing and DIY
Dislikes: Getting up early
Occupation: House Husband and Supply Teacher
Comments: This is my fourth trip with Salveson and my fifth trip to Winter Park (so it must be good) and I am really looking forward to meeting "old" friends in Colorado and introducing them to our new friends on this trip.
YP: Christopher

pic of Paula PAULA KIRK

Lives: Bournemouth, Dorset
Likes: Skiing, going to the gym, reading, going shopping with my daughter and walking my dog along the beach.
Dislikes: Mess and chilling out (never have the time for either!)
Occupation: Principal of a residential special school
Comments: This is my third visit to Winter Park with Salveson, although I like the resort so much I have been on other occasions with my family too. I am really looking forward to meeting all the young people and the other volunteers.
YP: Imogen

pic of Sarah SARAH DANBURY

Lives: Ivybridge, Devon
Likes: Shoes, Shopping, Parties and all things pink!
Dislikes: Mushrooms, fish and being cold (ideal, going skiing then!)
Occupation: Personal Care Assistant
Comments: My job keeps me busy but in my spare time I enjoy the company of my friends, running and general keep fit. I have participated in many outdoor activities but this will not only be my first trip with Salveson Ski Group but it will be my first time on the slopes. I'm very much looking forward to giving it a go and meeting some great people along the way.
YP: Tilly

pic of Kayla KAYLA HOPPIN

Lives: Ivybridge, Devon
Likes: Flying, chocolate, sea food and having a good laugh
Dislikes: Brussel Sprouts
Occupation: Personal Care Assistant
Comments: I moved over to the UK in November 2009 from South Africa and have enjoyed every min of it. I have never been skiing or to America so I am really looking forward to the trip. I am constantly kept busy with my Job and am looking forward to being away for a few day with great company. The thing I am most looking forward to is having my first fall whilst skiing.... weird, I know, but once you get over that initial worry then there is nothing holding you back... See you all soon :)
YP: Billy Jo

pic of Pat PAT PRUCHNICKYJ

Lives: Chinnor, Oxfordshire
Likes: Running, Skiing, Hot Air Ballooning
Dislikes: Rain
Occupation: Director of Branded Sky
Comments: This will be my first trip with Salveson Ski Group but as I lived in Colorado for a time I have skied at Winter Park many times before. I also like running and have been lucky enough to get a place in the London Marathon for the second year in a row. My passion is Hot Air Ballooning and I have been flying balloons for over 18 years. Last year I decided to make ballooning my main occupation after a very successful career in the computer software industry.
YP: Chris